A Symposium on Cell Signaling 2016 - Speakers

Keynote Speaker

Byron Goldstein, LANL (Honoree)

Byron Goldstein photo

Dr. Byron Goldstein is a retired Fellow of the Los Alamos National Laboratory. He is a recipient of the 2003 National Institute of General Medical Sciences MERIT award for the study of receptor aggregation and its effects. In the mid 1970's, Dr. Goldstein was recruited to join the newly formed Theoretical Biology and Biophysics Group within Los Alamos's renowned Theoretical Division. From that point on, he studied various aspects of the immune system, in particular allergic reactions triggered by the high-affinity receptor for IgE antibody. Dr. Goldstein studied IgE receptor signaling for over 35 years, working with many of the leading experimentalists in the field over that time. He developed a great number of models relating antigen properties to antigen-induced signaling events and cellular responses, and he made important contributions to our understanding of how ligand dose, valence, and binding kinetics influence downstream receptor signaling events. He is recognized for his biophysical modeling of ligand-receptor interactions, for modeling intracellular signaling processes in mammalian cell signaling systems that play roles in immunity, and for developing novel approaches for modeling the dynamics of biochemical networks. He became a LANL Fellow in 2004, an AAAS Fellow in 2011.

Additional Speakers

Janelle Ayres, Salk Institute

Barbara Baird, Cornell University

Christopher Basler, Georgia State

Leslie Berg, UMass

Pamela Bjorkman, California Institute of Technolo

Michael Blinov, University of Connecticut Health

Jamie Cate, University of California, Berkeley

Arup Chakraborty, MIT

Anu Chaudhary, University of Washington

Dan Coombs, University of British Columbia

Charles DeLisi, Boston University

Micah Dembo, Boston University

Vojo Deretic, UNM

Omar Dushek, Oxford

Joanne Engel, UCSF

Jim Faeder, University of Pittsburgh

Sandrasegaram Gnanakaran, LANL

Jay Groves, UC Berkeley

Ryan Gutenkunst, University of Arizona

Jennifer Harris, LANL

Bill Hlavacek, LANL

David Holowka, Cornell University

Sun Hur, Boston Children's Hospital

Tom Kepler, Boston University

Mohamed Lamkanfi, VIB, Belgium

Jeffrey P MacKeigan, Van Andel Research Institute, Mi

Henry Metzger, NIH retired

Eva Nogales, University of California, Berkeley

Alan Perelson, LANL

Dick Sayre, LANL

Recon Strategy, Recon Strategy

Geoffrey Waldo, LANL

Michael Weiss, Case Western University

Zhiping Weng, Boston University

Jim Werner, LANL

Bridget Wilson, UNM

Hao Wu, Harvard